EURO 2012

2012 UEFA European Football Championship

UEFA EURO 2012 official logo.
European Football Championship (EURO) in 2012 will be hosted by Poland and Ukraine together. Shared organisation of such event was done before in 2000 by Belgium and Netherlands and in 2008 when Austria and Switzerland hosted EURO 2008 together. Poland and Ukraine are preparing for this event since few years. New stadiums had to be build and infrastructure around them prepared for all the football fans that will come to see this unique event. Hopefully Maya people were wrong and world will not end before EURO giving Spain a chance to defend their championship from 2008. 

For those who are not familiar with EURO, it is an equivalence of World Cup but only for teams from Europe. Some countries like UK have more teams that enter EURO and represent for example England or Scotland separately. However, most of countries are represented by their national teams. Games that are played during EURO are the finals and eliminations are happening long line before the actual event. However, EURO is divided into group part, where all teams play agains all from the same group and play-off part. The champion holds the title for four years until the next EURO.

Games will be played in four cities in Poland and Ukraine. Map below shows all cities that will host games during EURO 2012 in Poland (marked in red) and Ukraine (marked in blue).

View Poland-Ukraine EURO 2012 in a larger map

See also :
10 reasons to visit Poland


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...